Book Review | 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

13 reasons why

Ever since Hannah Baker committed suicide, Clay Jensen has been walking around town in a daze, wondering why she would kill herself. Then a package arrives, with no return address. Intriguing, right? Clay soon discovers 7 tapes, with 13 sides- each one telling a different story. Each story about one person. And each person a reason why Hannah committed suicide. And if you received those tapes? You were one of the reasons. Throughout the whole day and night, Clay listens to these tapes, following Hannah’s footsteps and her voice, as she tells her story.

4.5/5 stars

I really enjoyed this book, and actually this weekend was the second time reading it. I know I can always turn to this book when I need a good cry. What I particularly like about this novel, is that Asher doesn’t sugarcoat anything. He keeps the story raw, and in turn, it makes the novel more real, and more relatable. Not only could I sympathize with Hannah’s character, I could also put myself in Clay’s shoes. My friend recently committed suicide, and reading a novel like this helped me cope a little better.

Talking more about the characters, I thought that all of them were well rounded, and definitely well thought out. As Hannah’s story progresses, we get to see all of these relationships between everyone, including little things linking all together. Just one thing that I would change, is Clay’s mom. In my opinion, her character was a bit too cookie cutter Mom, worrying about her son, but letting him do things anyway, kissing him on the head. But this is a very minor, minor thing, and the only flaw in the book, from what I could see. And thankfully, it didn’t draw anything away from the storyline.

The plot was absolutely riveting, and you honestly cannot put the book down. I would recommend not reading this book until you have a couple hours of spare time and a hot coffee. Tissues would come in handy as well. But honestly, this novel has so much in it. And what I mean by that, is that, it’s not just a book about suicide, or crushes. It’s about the entirety of life. From a teenage girl’s view point, we explore different topics such as death, suicide, love, stress, friendships, and everything that we all have to deal with on a day to day basis.

I highly recommend reading this book.  I want to thank Jay Asher for writing this wonderful novel. It’s helped me a lot since the first time I read it, and recent times. I’m sure my friend would have loved it too.

Leave a Reply

