Book Review | Chasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi

4/5 Stars

Holly, Corey, and Savitri were best friends, a single unit. They were freerunners, scaling Chicago’s highest buildings, jumping and doing stunts in the air. But all that changed after a tragic incident. Corey is murdered. After that, nothing is the same. Holly and Savitri start to come apart during the moments that they need each other the most. Holly becomes obsessed over Corey’s death and his killer, while Savitri wants to time to mourn and heal. Soon, the boundaries of their friendship is tested, and a question is revealed. Is it possible to hang on too tight?

Amazing, amazing book. If you haven’t read this, I recommend it greatly. Just one little problem with this book; it’s a bit slow at the beginning. And for those of you who have read it, you might be thinking “Slow? How? Someone gets murdered for Christ’s sake!” Yes, yes, I know, but just the way it seemed the plot was going was dull. However, it ended up being absolutely fantastic, so give it a read!

The characters were absolutely beautifully created. Let us all give a hand to Avasthi for creating such in depth characters. This novel is written in two perspectives; Holly and Savitri’s. I must admit, at first I really wasn’t a fan of Holly’s perspective. I found her character to be too harsh and annoying at first, but that girl grew on me. Another cool thing about her perspective is that she mentions a couple of times that she is a visual thinker. So, sometimes, instead of words, there’s a comic (all of which are beautifully drawn by the way, I love the style of it). Savitri’s POV is fantastic, as I love her character. She’s the “always stay cool no matter what, level headed thinker” kind of person, and I really related to her. However, it wasn’t just the two of them who were developed well. I especially liked the character of Holly’s dad. He’s a cop, and he’s very protective of Holly, and his family in general. It was just nice to see a realistic impression of a father daughter relationship.

Again, coming back to the plot, I think that the beginning was a bit slow. Also, at some parts around the middle, it got  dull as well. But overall, the plot was exciting, and there were a lot of surprises! I read this book in one sitting, because I couldn’t guess what was going to happen next, I couldn’t stand not knowing, so I had to read it. I had to.

The artwork is beautiful, and the writing style is brilliant. I loved this book, and definitely recommend you read it if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

