Book Review | Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

2/5 stars

At twenty-two years, Sydney Blake is having a pretty good life. She’s an aspiring musician, attending college with her best friend Tori, while also dating her love, Hunter. Sure, she hasn’t had all the details planned out, but her life is going steady. That all changes when Sydney finds out that Hunter is cheating on her…with Tori. With nowhere else to stay, she moves in with Ridge, the guy who plays on the balcony every day with his guitar. As soon as they meet, they realize they need each other.

I apologize for another crappy synopsis. This is another book that I couldn’t really take seriously. I’m not very cut out for the “romance” department, however, there were so many people suggesting it on Tumblr and Goodreads that I had to see what the hype was about. And I could understand why someone would like this book, but it was definitely not my cup of tea.

The writing style…I don’t know. It was fluid, it was good, but I didn’t really like the tone it was in. The whole time (it is in two POV’s) the characters were either really angry or really happy, and it was weird. However, it was easy to follow along, and it was easy to understand what was going on, so points for that.

I’ve mentioned this before in a past review, but: I don’t usually like the female protagonist. I have no idea why, it just happens. And it goes for this novel as well. I don’t like the decisions Sydney made, and although there was some help with the slip ups, she should’ve been wise enough to control her own actions. I’m trying to make this spoiler free so it’s really vague, but I just didn’t appreciate her character at all. The story is also told in Ridge’s point of view. Ridge was alright, but very passive, almost like a Mary Sue character. He was almost too perfect, and sometimes perfect gets boring.

The plot is mostly just ups and downs between the two of them (Sydney and Ridge), so it wasn’t that captivating for me. At first I couldn’t stop reading because there were so many little plot twists, but then it just kind of plateaued from there. However there were some highlights that made me keep reading, which is why I gave it two stars instead of one.

Overall, definitely not one of my favorite books, but if you like Romance novels, maybe you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

