Book Review | City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

3/5 stars

In City of Heavenly Fire Jace and Clary are on a mission to stop Sebastian from attacking more Shadowhunters, and turning them into Endarkened, a darker version of themselves. However, the attacks become too much, and many of the Shadowhunters retreat to Idris, their homeland. Jace still has the heavenly fire coursing through his veins, and knows that the only way to stop Sebastian is with the fire, but there’s a slight problem: he doesn’t know how to control it. In the final installment of The Mortal Instruments, there is betrayal, there is blood, and there is love. No one is safe.

I think that this was definitely not the best book in the series. I didn’t really feel emotionally attached to the characters…Of course, I was still hoping that none of them would die, but I sort of knew that the main, main characters wouldn’t, because Cassandra Clare wouldn’t want to displease fans.

One thing that set this book apart from the rest of the series, however, is that Clary and Jace did not have any drama between them, thank the Lord. The world was coming to an end, and if they had any stupid cat fights, I would have ripped my hair out. Thankfully, they were quite happy together in this novel, and my scalp is intact. Maybe the fact that they didn’t have any drama is what contributes to my next good factor about this book: Clary wasn’t annoying! In all the other books, I cannot stand Clary, especially the first 3. However, in this novel, I found her quite pleasant, which was nice.

A trouble I had with this novel was that Clare did a lot of setting up for her next series The Dark Artifices (how many more Shadowhunter weapons can there be?). There was a lot of focus on Emma and Julian, who are presumably the main characters of TDA. I almost found myself caring more about what happens to them than the main characters of TMI…  It seemed like Clare focused more on Emma and Julian to make readers excited for TDA, and the characters of TMI fell a little flat.

Perhaps that’s why the book wasn’t the emotional roller coaster I was expecting it to be. I mean, there was a couple of deaths, and I cared about them, but it was more “Oh, they died. Oh dear”, and then a quick move on. The characters that I had grown attached to over the course of the books seemed static, and I just didn’t feel a lot more them.

However, there are plot twists and shocks and such, so I don’t think anyone who’s liked the previous novels will necessarily hate the book. You might be a little disappointed, but you won’t hate it, I guarantee. The plot is fast-paced, and there’s never a dull moment where you want to put the book down. You just keep reading and reading and reading. It’s one of those books where you just have to find out what’s going to happen next.

Overall, I was a little disappointed with it. Before I read the book I was worried that I would have TMI withdrawal, where I would miss the characters too much, but after reading Heavenly Fire, I don’t really care about the main characters anymore, I’m sorry. The only one that I would love to read more about is Isabelle, and that’s because she was my favorite character from the beginning, back in 2009, when I first started reading the series. However, it wasn’t the worst it could have been, and it was a decent ending to a fantastical series.

I absolutely love this fan made cover… I think it’s better than the actual one

This was made by grodansnagel on deviantArt!

Leave a Reply

