Book Review | The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

4/5 stars

Ex-soldier Cormoran Strike is barely getting by as a private investigator. His life seems to have been turned for the worst; he has no actual cases, he broke things off with his now ex-fiance, and as a result, he’s sleeping on a camp bed in his office.

However, when wealthy John Bristow, brother to the famous supermodel Lula Landry, comes to Strike, insisting that his sister’s alleged suicide was a murder, things start to pick up. With his new temporary assistant Robin, Strike is plunged into the intricate lives of the wealthy. He must sort out the lies and the truths, the fakes and the genuines.

Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, J.K. Rowling writes a mystery novel that will leave readers on the edge of their seats.

To be honest, I’ve heard many negative things about this novel, and I was a bit hesitant to pick it up. To my surprise and happiness, I did enjoy it very much!

I’ve always loved Rowling’s writing style, all the way back from when I started reading the Harry Potter books. The writing style of this is similar, in a way. Of course, because this series is aimed for an older audience, there are swears, and such, but the overall tone is what I love. Her writing, to me, is so calming, and can wrap you up in the story, so you don’t want to put the book down. You’re in the story.

The characters were well rounded, and they all had dimension to them. I found Cormoran Strike a bit too agreeable? He didn’t seem to have any faults in his personality which made it a bit hard to relate to him. However, I did enjoy that him, and the other characters as well, had different issues outside of the whole Lula mystery. It added more realism to the story, and the characters became more rounded.

One thing I didn’t like about this novel was that it tended to be a bit slow at times. I would be reading, and reading, and reading…but then I had to put it down for a bit, because it was a too wordy, and I was getting bored. There wasn’t that much action, which I didn’t mind, but some of the conversations turned long and tedious to read through. I found myself skimming the page sometimes, and had to force myself to read them.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, and definitely recommend it to others. However, if you’re one for fast action, this isn’t the book for you. I enjoyed this book and will definitely be reading the rest of this series.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

Leave a Reply

