Book Review | Enchantment by Orson Scott Card

3.5/5 stars

Everyone’s heard the story before. The man wakes up the princess with a kiss, and everyone lives happily after. But what happens after that? Using this base, Card develops a story that stems from the after, which doesn’t prove to be so happy.

We follow the story of Ivan, from the moment he sees Katerina atop of the pedestal, beautiful, and sleeping. The first time he sees her, he runs, because of a mysterious creature lurking beneath the leaves. As an adult, he finds his way back to her, and this time, he does not run. He catapults into a story filled with magic, deceit, and romance.

This is only the second book I’ve read by Orson Scott Card. The first I’ve read of his was Ender’s Game, which was phenemonal, and truly enjoyable. I know that there are companion novels to that book, so I will definitely be picking them up. In the mean time, I read Enchantment, which I enjoyed, but not as much as I thought I would.

Compared to other books that I’ve rated, perhaps a 4/5 stars would be a more accurate rating for this novel, but I expected more from this novel, and I guess I was a little disappointed. Nevertheless, it was still a good read.

The pacing was a little slow for my taste. If you’ve seen the book, you’ll know that it’s quite thick, and the print is fairly small. There were parts that I believed were unnecessary, and made me want to put the book down.

His writing style though is incredible. It draws the reader in. There’s something so melodic about it, yet he can transform it into the character’s perspective. Each character has a distinctive voice, while still keeping in tune with the lyrical style of Card’s.

Speaking about the characters… They weren’t my favorite. Ivan was a good guy, but he seemed too plain. He was nice, and that was all he was. His mother, had a very intricate background, and I would have liked to see more of her perspective throughout the novel. There were only a few characters that I was actually interested in, and most of them were minor characters, so I wasn’t really invested in my emotions.

However, what made up for that was the concept of this novel. I love learning about different cultures, and different religions, and seeing it from a view from the past, and the present, was really interesting. I also really enjoyed the mix of fairy tales, it was a fresh spin on an overused idea.

Overall, I do recommend this book to anyone who’s contemplating reading it, just bear in mind that it’s not his best (it’s still great!).

Leave a Reply

