Book Review | The Waiting Room by Alysha Kaye

4/5 stars

What happens after death? This is a question that mankind has questioned since the beginning of time. The possibility of an afterlife has created different religions and beliefs, and many radical theories. Kaye’s novel joins the group of fiction novels that challenges and creates the idea of a life after death.

After his death by car crash, Jude is stuck in the waiting room, as are numerous others. After a while, their names are called, and they vanish. Everyone, except for Jude. He doesn’t know why he’s special. No one knows what’s going on. So he waits.

I actually just started following Alysha Kaye’s blog a little while ago, and if you want to check out her blog as well, I’ll have it linked. ( Alysha’s blog )

I first want to start off talking about the plot and premise of the book, because that’s what I enjoyed most about it. I don’t think I’ve ever encountered an idea like this before. That after death, you don’t get a life, you wait in the waiting room, until it’s time for your next one… it’s an original twist on an overused idea, and I loved it. I also really liked the structure of the book, how there were flashbacks cut in between the story. It gave more depth, and it made sense.

The characters however, I didn’t love so much. They felt static to me, some characters more than others. Jude was my favorite character, and at first I thought he was going to be plain and perfect, but as the plot progressed and more conflicts arised, you could see how developed he was as a character.

Kaye’s writing style is very smooth, and there’s something about it that drives the story along. It’s silky, but not dull, and exciting, yet not rash. The tone flows throughout the story, and makes you want to keep reading. I just have one complaint; as the POV switches between the characters, I sometimes found it hard to distinguish between Nina and Jude. The way that Nina thought was along the same wavelength as Jude, while her words were completely different. It threw me off a little bit.

Overall, I enjoyed this story, and I recommend it to anyone that wants a quick read that is full of emotions (not going to lie, I cried at one part).

One thought on “Book Review | The Waiting Room by Alysha Kaye

Leave a Reply

