Dear Rick Riordan,

I’m not sure how to start this “letter”, because I don’t think you’re aware of how much your novels, particularly your Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus series, has affected your readers.

To me, your characters weren’t just 2D static objects that I was reading about in a book; they were, as weird as it sounds, my friends. I started reading Percy Jackson when I was 12, and it was just amazing for me to grow up with Percy, and relate to him.

I struggled with depression a lot last year, and I still do, although it has gotten a lot better for me. I think novels, such as yours, helped me a lot. There were days where I just wanted to stop living, because I hated the life I was in. But then I would read your books and escape into this great world, where even though these demigods faced death almost everyday, they always had hope.

I’m very socially awkward, and have social anxiety, and it’s something that I’ve been trying to overcome my whole life. It hinders me, and it’s so stupid because I know that it’s all in my head. In this way, I can relate to Percy. I know that he isn’t a very socially awkward person, but before he found out that he was a demigod, he was always out of place, and getting into trouble, without meaning to, and I don’t know, I guess I just empathize with him.

Man, I didn’t mean to make this letter so depressing to read… I also want to thank you for creating this amazing fanbase. Without your novels, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be the same person. All these people with fanfictions, and fanart, and headcanons, it’s incredible. It’s like you’ve created this huge family, and I will be forever grateful.

I’ve made friends within the PJO community, and they’ve helped me through some tough times. This was all created by you, and I know you may never read this, but I just want to say thank you, for everything.

Sincerely,
Ari

PS. Let’s just not talk about the movies, ok, ok, good.

Leave a Reply

