Book Review | The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

4.5/5 stars

Wallflower (noun)

a shy or retiring person who remains unnoticed at social events, especially a woman without a dance partner

Charlie is a freshman in high school, and he has noticed that things are changing. His friends have either moved away or moved on, and that leaves him starting school alone, and by himself. That all changes when he meets Patrick and Sam. Together, they show Charlie the wonders of being young and wild. They show him that it’s okay to be yourself. They show him the importance of friendship. And most of all, they show him that the past doesn’t have to influence your future.

I surprisingly enjoyed this novel. The first time I “read” this novel, I didn’t really read it, I just listened to the audio book of it while driving, and I guess just the way the narrator spoke, I couldn’t really get into the story. I absolutely hated the audio book, and proceeded to watch the movie, because Emma Watson is my goddess, and I couldn’t just not watch it.

I enjoyed the movie, but not as much as people were raving. I hated the audio book, so I was baffled to why people were obsessing over this franchise. Well now that I’ve actually read the book, I understand it.

Chbosky’s writing really draws you into the story. Somehow, he has mastered the art of writing as a teenager, and sounding like a teenager. Charlie isn’t a normal teenager, but somehow Chbosky can convey this through his writing, and still make it sound believable.

The characters are really what made the story for me. Just the way that everyone had a role to play, and everyone had so much detail; they all came alive. I love the idea of Charlie “being a wallflower”, because it really worked with this type of point of view. He could see the flaws in everyone. He knew everything that was going on, and yet, most of the times, if it didn’t concern him, he didn’t do anything about it. He knew to stay out of it, it wasn’t his business, but he told a story.

The relationships that grow in this novel truly makes me nostalgic. I’m a senior in high school, and the fact that I have to say good bye to most of my friends in the fall… It makes me feel so terrible, yet happy that I could have such strong relationships with people. Something that Chbosky does really well is seamlessly tie the plot together. Everything made sense.

If you haven’t read this novel, I highly recommend it. It surprisingly enjoyable for me, and maybe you will find it too.

3 thoughts on “Book Review | The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    Good review :)! I read the book but haven’t seen the movie… He does a good job writing as a teenager 😮 now that you mention it.

  2. I read it a long time back and now so glad to see it being made into a movie. I hope it lives upto the goodness of the book.

    This book will be on your ‘favorites’shelf if you’re a fan of Catcher In The Rye and To Kill A Mockingbird.

Leave a Reply

