Movies to Watch on Christmas

My family and I don’t really do anything special for Christmas. We do the usual exchanging of gifts, but our only tradition is to watch movies together. I’ve compiled a list of my favorite Christmas movies, because let’s be honest, the winter holidays = binging on Netflix and TV.

1. Home Alone (1990)

This is a Christmas classic. If you don’t watch this movie during Christmas, did you really have Christmas? For those that don’t know this movie, it’s about a boy who gets left home a lone during the holidays, and tries to keep robbers out of his house using various interesting techniques.

2. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

The animation in this movie still takes my breath away every time I watch it. Also, I love how this can interchange as a Halloween movie and a Christmas movie. Two of my favorite holidays in one! The story line follows Jack Skellington, the king of Halloweentown, who stumbles upon Christmastown. Becoming bored of Halloweentown, Skellington tries to learn the ways of Christmas.

3. Jack Frost (1998)

I remember the first time I saw this movie was when I was little, and the movie was halfway over, and I was so confused as to what was going on. But anyways, watching Michael Keaton playing someone come back to life in the body of a snowman? Who can say no the that.

4. Elf (2003)

Elf is one of my favorite movies of all time. Maybe it’s because Will Ferrell’s character (Buddy) actually thought he was an elf. Maybe it’s because the movie has a theme of accepting who you are. Or maybe it’s because you get to see Will Ferrell prance around in yellow tights.

5. Christmas with the Kranks (2004)

When their plans suddenly change, watch as the Kranks try to set up and decorate for a Christmas Party in one day. The first time I watched this movie, I really wanted to throw a Christmas Party, so I decided to have one with my stuffed animals. I think I was six haha.

6. The Nutcracker

And for all you dancers/ballet enthusiasts who weren’t able to attend the Nutcracker this year, plug your laptop into your Tv, and watch this performance from YouTube.

Watch The Nutcracker here!

Christmas just doesn’t feel complete without these movies.

-Ari

(post image from nmbcdesgin.com)

Leave a Reply

