Book Review | THE INFINITE SEA by Rick Yancey

4/5 stars

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate (c) goodreads

I LOVED the Fifth Wave. I got it the day it was released, quite incidentally, as I was just in Costco browsing for groceries, when I saw the cover, and was like, “Okay, I have to get this.” I read it in a day, it was amazing, I let all my friends borrow it, and I couldn’t wait for the second book. Now that I’ve finished The Infinite Sea, I can say that it was not a disappointment.

The beginning was a bit slow. There was a lot of setup, since the end of the first book was so action packed, the beginning of this one was the repercussions of the first book. As the story develops, however, the novel becomes more tense until the action packed cliffhanger. I feel like the mood and atmosphere of the first and second book is quite different. The first book, it’s more mysterious, and quiet-like, this one, it’s stealthy, and gory.

I still don’t like Cassie. I didn’t like her in the first book, and I didn’t like her in this one. I’m not sure why, but there’s just something that bothers me about her. Same with Evan. Maybe it’s not fair to judge Evan by Cassie, but their relationship bothers me so much. (Does anyone else see Cassie as Clarke from the 100? I know Chloe G Moretz is playing her, but I just can’t get Clarke out of my head…)

However, I loved the short little POV’s from Poundcake. It was so interesting to see his story, and learn about him. I loved how they were told in the third person. Ahhh, the only problem I had with it was I wish there were more of those snippets. I think there were only two, and I can truthfully say that those two sections were the parts where I was the most intrigued.

Also, can we talk about Ringer? She was my favorite character in the first novel, and she had so many POV’s in this one and damn, that girl is so badass! We got to learn more about her insecurities, and learn more about her in general, and the way she thinks is so interesting…. I cannot truly express my love for Ringer.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. Was it up to par of the first book? No, but nevertheless, it’s still amazing.

Leave a Reply

