TOP FIVE FRIDAYS | My Favorite Book to Movie Adaptations

When I look at a movie adaptation of a book, I don’t mind if they made some slight changes. What I really look for is that they got the main message across, and that they stayed true to the theme of the book. Of course, if they have huge details missing, I’ll be disappointed about that, but otherwise, if a director keeps the message of the book the same, it usually has great results. This list will be in no particular order.

1. The Spectacular Now

If you haven’t read this novel… go read it. If you haven’t watched this movie… go watch it. I’m not sure if this movie was released in all theatres, but I know that it was played at a film festival. I was beyond impressed with how true to the novel it stood, while it still changed some elements. The ending of the novel was completely different from the movie, and I still have a crisis while choosing a favorite.

2. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Oh man, PoA, for me, was the best adaptation in the whole HP series. Not the best movie, but the best adaptation. It had the perfect blend of darkness and humour that JK Rowling is so good at, and the film followed very closely to the novel.

3. The Maze Runner

I read The Maze Runner before I made this blog, so I never had the chance to review it. I didn’t really like the novel, because even though I liked the plot and the premise, I hated Thomas, and it was in his perspective, so it was annoying to read. But the movie made Thomas less annoying, and Dylan O’ Brien, so… For me, it was a rare case where the movie was better than the book. (plus Ki Hong Lee wowowow)

4. The Fault in Our Stars

Oh man I remember being really hesitant about this movie, because of the word choices John Green used in his book. He used a lot of elaborate words, and quite insightful quotes, and I wasn’t sure how that would translate in to film. But they pulled it off and I was quite impressed.

5. Holes

Oh man this novel really takes me back to a long time ago. I think it was grade six when we read this book for a novel study. Afterwards we watched the movie, and I remember being like “wow, that was a good adaptation.” I still think that to this day, six years later.

What are your favorite adaptations? Comment below!

2 thoughts on “TOP FIVE FRIDAYS | My Favorite Book to Movie Adaptations

Leave a Reply

