Book Review | SOME QUIET PLACE by Kelsey Sutton

4/5 stars

I can’t feel sadness, anger, or fear. I can’t feel anything. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions… she sees them in human form. Longing hovers around the shy, adoring boy at school. Courage materializes beside her dying friend. Fury and Resentment visit her abusive home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, except beautiful Fear, who sometimes torments her and other times plays her compassionate savior. He’s obsessed with finding the answer to one question: What happened to Elizabeth to make her this way?

They both sense that the key to Elizabeth’s condition is somehow connected to the paintings of her dreams, which show visions of death and grief that raise more questions than answers. But as a shadowy menace begins to stalk her, Elizabeth’s very survival depends on discovering the truth about herself. When it matters most, she may not be able to rely on Fear to save her (c) goodreads

As soon as I started reading this book, I was hooked. I’d never read anything like it before, and overall, I think that Sutton did an amazing job of living up to the potential of this promising premise. Her writing style had a lyrical tone to it that works well with casual scenes and more eerie scenes. Speaking of eerie scenes, there were some creepy parts of the book that had me so paranoid, and if you’re easily creeped out like me, I would recommend not reading the book at 2 am like I did.

I love the idea of Elizabeth being emotionless. It was so well executed, and even though she could have been written static and boring, somehow, even without feeling emotions, she was still interesting. Plus it was cool to see how she handled situations while analyzing them.

I feel like this love triangle was handled well. I sort of knew which person she would end up with, and I liked that she admitted to using one of them. Fear was so well characterized, and I loved how he was depicted. Joshua, however, wasn’t really a favorite of mine. I mean, I didn’t hate him or fin him annoying at all, actually I kinda liked him, but he didn’t seem to have a depth to his character as much as say Fear or Elizabeth. This also happened to be the case for Sophia. I didn’t like how she was painted as a bully, just swiping at Elizabeth any chance she got. She had the backstory with her autistic sister, but I felt that wasn’t enough.

I loved loved loved how she could see Emotions, because it enabled her, in a way, to read minds. This allowed for us to see a range of different perspectives, while still in Elizabeth’s point of view. My favorite dynamic were between her parents. How her mother had the quiet Emotions, and her father had the loud ones.

My favorite scene of the entire book is when Charles is talking to Elizabeth towards the end of the novel. You know, when she finds out that she’s not… you know. I don’t want to spoil the book if you haven’t read it, but if you have read it, I think you know what I’m talking about. It was so creepy and I had actual shivers running down my spine. I had to turn an extra light on so there wouldn’t be any spooky shadows. It was just really chilling.

I was so impressed with this novel, and according to Goodreads, this is only the first book, so I am definitely looking forward to reading the next one!

2 thoughts on “Book Review | SOME QUIET PLACE by Kelsey Sutton

Leave a Reply

