Book Review | EVIL LIBRARIAN by Michelle Knudson

3.5/4 stars

He’s young. He’s hot. He’s also evil. He’s . . . the librarian.

When Cynthia Rothschild’s best friend, Annie, falls head over heels for the new high-school librarian, Cyn can totally see why. He’s really young and super cute and thinks Annie would make an excellent library monitor. But after meeting Mr. Gabriel, Cyn realizes something isn’t quite right. Maybe it’s the creepy look in the librarian’s eyes, or the weird feeling Cyn gets whenever she’s around him. Before long Cyn realizes that Mr. Gabriel is, in fact . . . a demon. Now, in addition to saving the school musical from technical disaster and trying not to make a fool of herself with her own hopeless crush, Cyn has to save her best friend from the clutches of the evil librarian, who also seems to be slowly sucking the life force out of the entire student body! From best-selling author Michelle Knudsen, here is the perfect novel for teens who like their horror served up with a bit of romance, plenty of humor, and some pretty hot guys (of both the good and evil variety). (c) goodreads

Let me warn you. If you’re planning to read this book, the beginning is really dry and slow. We find out that Mr. Gabriel is a demon almost right away, but it’s still very slow to read through, and doesn’t really pick up until around page 180. That’s when things started getting interesting, probably because of the new characters being introduced.

At first I didn’t really like Cynthia’s character. After a while, I started to not mind it. Now that I’m finished reading the novel, I’m not really sure how I feel about her. She’s so in love with a boy she hardly even knows, and that just seems weird to me. Not only that, but she kind of stood out in an odd way. She was one of the only characters who were actually developed. The other characters had some background to them, but not nearly as much as Cynthia, and that just made the story seem off.

However, I did enjoy the writing style. Knudsen has an entertaining way of mixing humor into her voice. Everything flowed very smoothly, and I didn’t find any pieces to be choppy or too rushed.

I also loved that there was a musical theatre subplot in the novel. Not only did we learn more about the characters, but it gave a nice break to the constant danger of Mr. Gabriel. I haven’t really seen musical theatre presented in a novel in that fashion, so it was really fresh to see.

Before I end this review, I want to say one more thing that bothered me, because I’m not sure if it bothered anyone else. It’s the romance between Cynthia and Ryan. Of course, Cynthia’s crush on Ryan is part of the humor in this story, and it worked well, but I would’ve liked to see them as platonic friends. While her friend was in danger, Cynthia was wondering why Ryan didn’t kiss her. Honestly? Maybe I’m just reading too much into it.

Overall, it was a light, enjoyable read.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | EVIL LIBRARIAN by Michelle Knudson

  1. Great review. Nice and honest!! I would’ve picked this one up solely for the cover art. How clever!? But it seems the outside is more clever than the inside? Maybe I’ll tuck this one deep on my TBR shelf:)

Leave a Reply

